Goodbye to Flex

Today is officially my last day on the Flex SDK team. I have been testing the SDK for over six years. I started on the team when Flex was just finishing up its 1.5 release. Look how far its come!  I am not leaving Adobe, however. I am simply switching roles to become a quality engineering manager on the Flash Player team. I thought it was time to try my hand at something a little new. I look forward to the new people and challenges.

I have always been a huge proponent of community feedback on the team and as my last gift to customers, I just finished sending off “Flex Community Hero” mugs to all of the customers who filed a bug and had it fixed in our last Flex 4.5 release. If you filed and SDK bug that was fixed, you probably even got a handwritten letter from our QA team. These contributions from the community are really appreciated.

For now, this blog will likely be pretty quiet with relation to Flex content.


10 responses

  1. Congrats Joan! The Player team is lucky to have you.

    _peter

  2. I was one of those! Had only submitted a single bug but was happy to help and see it fixed in Flex 4.5 which I’m still using in a project at work. Thanks Joan for everything. I’m sad to see you leave the team though. I’ll be sending a card tonight to the team to say thanks. You guys do incredible work!

  3. Great job,Joan Lafferty! Pay tribute to your contribution to Flex!

  4. Joan,

    Congratulations! I am sure you would do great in this new role – a well deserved one.

    It was fun working with you in Flex SDK team. I am sure, everyone in sdk team would miss you, while player team must be excited.

    I hope, we get to hear from you (on this blog or community forums) once in a while.

    cheers

    -abdul

  5. I was actually very impressed by personal handwritten note, it is a good feeling that your efforts with logging bugs did not come unnoticed.

    I wish we had opportunity to commit bug fixes to Flex SDK by ourselves some day again.

    Wish you all the best at your new position, Flash Player bugs are harder to catch and I guess in general they will have no a simple list to steps to be reproduced 🙂

  6. I know myself and the Flex community will miss your valuable contributions but that sounds like a great opportunity and congratulations! Plus, you are still staying “in the family” 🙂

  7. I also really appreciated my hand written note.

    Good luck with your new position and thanks!

  8. I received my mug over here in Wales just last week. I’m currently drinking my first cuppa tea of the day from it! The handwritten letter was a really thoughtful touch too. I love working with Flex and am proud of the tiny part I played in its development. Good luck in your new position Joan!

  9. Congratulations and good luck with your position ! 🙂

  10. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.

    I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

